Windows 8 setup Help!

User
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 17th, '14, 18:33

Windows 8 setup Help!

Postby rmoe21 » Jan 17th, '14, 18:54

I am trying to setup RAID 5 on a Windows PC.

PC specs= an intel Core i5-3350p CPU@3.10 GHz and 12GB's of memory / 64 bit operating system , x64-based processor. (so, I think this C should be able to handle it)

I installed the RAID card and windows driver. I then tried to launch the Flash utility but the HighPoint Flash utility came up and said no controller is detected.

I went to "Device Manager" and under "Storage Controllers" I saw "RocketRAID 231xSATA Controller".

I went to "This PC" and saw a new drive = "4TB-a-GTech" with 3.63 TB of space available.

I went to the BIOS on motherboard and saw that it is setup for "RAID".

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 486
Joined: Feb 6th, '13, 10:44

Re: Windows 8 setup Help!

Postby Dustin F » Jan 21st, '14, 16:01

Hi rmoe21,

Thanks for posting. The flash utility is kept in the installer package in case someone buys a much older unit but for the most part the card should already be updated with the latest firmware if it has been made in the last few years. All you should need is the driver and the webgui to use the card. Proceed to install the webgui and use the web interface to create the raid you would then initialize and format the raid using disk management.
Regards

Dustin
G-Technology Support
twitter.com/GTech_Support

User
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 17th, '14, 18:33

Re: Windows 8 setup Help!

Postby rmoe21 » Jan 27th, '14, 17:33

Thanks for the reply.

I got everything installed and setup via the web gui (i think that is the local host login???). it took almost 2 days to setup RAID_5 over the 2 arrays (8 1_TB drives) it seemed really slow)). Anyway, I have 2 of the 4TB arrays. I proceeded to copy a video and picture album (size 900GB) and the speed topped out at 110Mbs which also was slow. Then after the transfer complete I tested the read speed and it only topped out at a little less than 200Mbs. All the information that I gathered on the G-Speed indicated that it was capable of 2 to 3 GB transfer rates. At this point I am not sure what the problem could be.

I created the array via the local host login.
Formatted the "simple drive" as NTFS

Any suggestions?
Ron

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 486
Joined: Feb 6th, '13, 10:44

Re: Windows 8 setup Help!

Postby Dustin F » Jan 28th, '14, 09:25

Hi Ron,

Are you sure the raid has finished creating. I have seen times where a raid is still building but will allow you to create a partition from disk management. While trying to use the drive when this is happening it will result in a much slower performance while it is still running. To be clear you are getting megabit transfer speeds as opposed to megabyte speeds? Even in raid 5 you should be able to get around 200 MBps (megabytes per second).
Regards

Dustin
G-Technology Support
twitter.com/GTech_Support

User
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 17th, '14, 18:33

Re: Windows 8 setup Help!

Postby rmoe21 » Jan 30th, '14, 19:09

Yes,

The event log said it completed successfully:


RAID 5 Array 'RAID_5_0' has been created successfully (Disk 1:Hitachi HDS721010KLA330-GTA001PBGRE55G, 1/3/1; Disk 2:Hitachi HDS721010KLA330-GTA001PBGR9G9G, 1/3/2; Disk 3:Hitachi HDS721010KLA330-GTA001PBGR98MG, 1/3/3; Disk 4:Hitachi HDS721010KLA330-GTA001PBGRDU6G, 1/3/4; Disk 5:Hitachi HDT721010SLA360-STF604MR2K0JHP, 1/4/1; Disk 6:Hitachi HDT721010SLA360-STF607MH2T99MK, 1/4/2; Disk 7:Hitachi HDT721010SLA360-STF607MH2TAHKK, 1/4/3; Disk 8:Hitachi HDT721010SLA360-STF604MH1EGGZW, 1/4/4).

*One more question: Has the G-Speed RAID array been tested extensively on Win8 because from reading the other post it kind of sounds like it was developed for the MAC...?

I will run another test and if possible copy & paste the readings.

Forgive all my negativity. I am hoping to have better news to post.

Thanks for the reply,
Ron

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 486
Joined: Feb 6th, '13, 10:44

Re: Windows 8 setup Help!

Postby Dustin F » Feb 10th, '14, 13:28

Hi Ron,

Sorry for the delay. After reading carefully through the posts I realized the speeds you were quoting seem about normal. The g-speed es on a single unit maxs out at 252MB/s on a raid 0. In a raid 5 that is reduced a bit since a parody is written to all of the drives. getting around 200MB/s is to be expected. I'm not sure where you got the impression of the unit would transfer at 2-3 GB/s. The unit has been used on windows for years although it is preformatted for mac. We have seen no issues with the unit on windows 8 specifically.
Regards

Dustin
G-Technology Support
twitter.com/GTech_Support

Return to G-SPEED eS



cron
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php