G-Raid 1tb won't power on

User
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 19th, '12, 12:47

G-Raid 1tb won't power on

Postby keithjarot » Oct 19th, '12, 12:52

My drive won't come on at all. The power light won't come on and I tried several G Tech power supplies as I have 3 other drives. Is there any kind of master reset or is it likely dead? This is the Gen4 model with the newer power supply

Moderator
Posts: 175
Joined: Aug 27th, '12, 12:16

Re: G-Raid 1tb won't power on

Postby Gene G » Oct 23rd, '12, 07:49

Hi Keith,

Thanks for your post. It sounds like you may have a defective controller board in your unit. I would recommend that you return it for replacement, you can find the RMA request form here: http://www.g-technology.com/support/warranty_rma.cfm Please let me know if you have any questions.

Regards,
Gene Gilbert
G-Technology Tech Support
g-technology.com

User
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 19th, '14, 05:33

Re: G-Raid 1tb won't power on

Postby valerian253 » Nov 19th, '14, 05:37

My warranty is well past. Is there any way to salvage the information on a drive with this problem?

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Feb 6th, '13, 10:44

Re: G-Raid 1tb won't power on

Postby Dustin F » Nov 19th, '14, 08:28

Hi valerian253,

Thanks for posting. Since the G-Raid is a hardware raid in order to access the information on a unit with a failed chassis it would need to go to a data recovery service that can emulate the raid. We have a list of partner companies that can give free quotes as well as a discount on their service for work on our products. Here is the link. http://support.g-technology.com/warranty/data_recovery
Regards

Dustin
G-Technology Support
twitter.com/GTech_Support

Return to G-RAID



cron
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php