Does the current backup delete old back ups?

User
Posts: 1
Joined: May 1st, '14, 05:23

Does the current backup delete old back ups?

Postby sarawarden » May 1st, '14, 05:38

I am using my G-drive mobile USB that I originally used on my Mac Pro that died. On the backups from that computer are a bunch of photos I don't want to lose. I'm now using my husband's old Mac that can't upload the most current iPhoto, so I'm unable to import those pics from the G-drive to the computer I'm currently using. My question is this, if I use the G-drive for a backup on my current computer, will I lose the prior backups that include the photos- do the new backs ups overwrite the old ones?

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 485
Joined: Feb 6th, '13, 10:44

Re: Does the current backup delete old back ups?

Postby Dustin F » May 1st, '14, 09:14

Hi sarawarden,

Thanks for posting. Time machine can backup two computers on the same drive. It will create a separate file for each computer. You can always use time machine or migration assistant later to select which one you want to restore from.
Regards

Dustin
G-Technology Support
twitter.com/GTech_Support

Return to G-DRIVE mobile USB



cron
Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php