Pairing 2 G-RAIDs as a Mirrored RAID-1 set

User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 7th, '14, 07:35

Pairing 2 G-RAIDs as a Mirrored RAID-1 set

Postby adamdbrowne » Mar 7th, '14, 08:11

An easy question, and then a hard question:

Even though the G-RAID is RAID-0, if I had two G-RAIDs (daisy-chained) could I set them up in Disk Utility as a Mirrored RAID-1 Set?

AND

I know that a RAID-1 set is an exact duplicate, but I don't know how one actually takes advantage of that. For example, lets say I've had two drives set up as a RAID-1 set for a while, lots of data on it, and then I decide to take one of the drives and throw it into a lake. All of the data should still be on the other drive, but what happens? Does everything just keep going like normal? Do I just get a warning or something telling me to plug in a new drive so it can start mirroring again? Or does the computer just freak out and have no idea what to do?

Many thanks ahead of time for any insight!

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 508
Joined: Feb 6th, '13, 10:44

Re: Pairing 2 G-RAIDs as a Mirrored RAID-1 set

Postby Dustin F » Mar 7th, '14, 08:23

Hi Adam,

The standard G-Raid is a hardware raid 0. If you set up a software raid 1 (mirrored) between them the computer will see the two as one drive when on and whatever it does to one drive it will do to the other. (i.e. a file add, added to both, a file deleted deleted from both.) If one drive does fail you can select a second disk a initiate a manual rebuild to assign a new drive. Or you can delete the mirrored raid set and the drive would return to a normal stand alone function.
Regards

Dustin
G-Technology Support
twitter.com/GTech_Support

User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 7th, '14, 07:35

Re: Pairing 2 G-RAIDs as a Mirrored RAID-1 set

Postby adamdbrowne » Mar 7th, '14, 08:29

Thanks, that's helpful. So, if I delete the mirrored raid set (something I would do in Disk Utility?) I wouldn't lose the data on it, it just wouldn't be redundant?

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 508
Joined: Feb 6th, '13, 10:44

Re: Pairing 2 G-RAIDs as a Mirrored RAID-1 set

Postby Dustin F » Mar 7th, '14, 09:12

Adam,

Correct, you would delete the mirrored raid set in disk utility and then you would still have access to the data on the drive.
Regards

Dustin
G-Technology Support
twitter.com/GTech_Support

User
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2nd, '14, 16:27

Re: Pairing 2 G-RAIDs as a Mirrored RAID-1 set

Postby davidwitham » May 2nd, '14, 16:32

Is there a data transfer speed bump that would be obtained by configuring the two G-Raids this way?

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 508
Joined: Feb 6th, '13, 10:44

Re: Pairing 2 G-RAIDs as a Mirrored RAID-1 set

Postby Dustin F » May 5th, '14, 08:35

Hi David,

Thanks for posting. Yes there is a small speed reduction to a raid 1 as any operation must be performed by both drives, particularly with external drives as the external connection adds a bit more latency.
Regards

Dustin
G-Technology Support
twitter.com/GTech_Support

User
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2nd, '14, 16:27

Re: Pairing 2 G-RAIDs as a Mirrored RAID-1 set

Postby davidwitham » May 5th, '14, 09:03

Dustin,

Thanks for the clarification...I actually thought there would be a speed_increase_...

After nosing around the forum a bit, it seems to me that if you have two g-raids it's probably best to daisy-chain them and use one as a backup for the other with something like Time Machine or Carbon Copy Cloner because of the lack of a hardware RAID controller.

Am I on the right track with this?

thanks...

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 508
Joined: Feb 6th, '13, 10:44

Re: Pairing 2 G-RAIDs as a Mirrored RAID-1 set

Postby Dustin F » May 6th, '14, 07:12

Hi David,

Many people use softwares like Carbon Copy Cloner or Super Duper to help sync up multiple backup drives. Though G-Raids are recommended as editing or project drives rather than backup. Within the g-raid a hardware raid 0 is configured to give the max capacity and increased speed within the unit. If one of the drives fails within it or the controller card gives out you would not be able to access data without data recovery. Although if you really need a large backup drive having two of them with the syncing software as you are thinking would be a good way to go.
Regards

Dustin
G-Technology Support
twitter.com/GTech_Support

Return to G-RAID w/ Thunderbolt



Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php