How to connect G-SPEEDeS Pro to MacBook pro 2014

User
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 31st, '14, 13:10

How to connect G-SPEEDeS Pro to MacBook pro 2014

Postby jantcano » Jul 31st, '14, 13:24

Hi there,
I wonder if anyone tried to connect a G-SPEED eS PRO to the newest Macbook Pro?
I know I can get any of the others G-SPEED eS or Q models but the transfer rate of the eS PRO model is 640mb/s and that's what make me decide for this model over the others.
So, the point is how to get 1 x mini-SAS speak to a SDXC card slot or a thunderbolt 2 connector.
Thank you all!

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 521
Joined: Feb 6th, '13, 10:44

Re: How to connect G-SPEEDeS Pro to MacBook pro 2014

Postby Dustin F » Aug 1st, '14, 07:46

Hi jantcano,

Thanks for posting. To use a G-Speed ES Pro on a Macbook Pro the raid controller card would need to interface via the thunderbolt port. You most likely have one of the ATTO raid controller cards, if so there are two options for this. One would be getting a pci-e to thunderbolt enclosure to place the controller card from the old mac pro into to allow it to communicate to the new macbook. The other if you would prefer to leave that card where it is so you have two computers able to access the es pro is the ATTO thunder stream device which is a more compact thunderbolt housing with the raid controller card built in. Both would operate the same way with the atto config tool.
Regards

Dustin
G-Technology Support
twitter.com/GTech_Support

User
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 31st, '14, 13:10

Re: How to connect G-SPEEDeS Pro to MacBook pro 2014

Postby jantcano » Aug 1st, '14, 10:45

Hi,
I'm talking to try to connect the G-SPEED eS PRO to a laptop Macbook Pro ( the latest model 2014 )
http://store.apple.com/us/buy-mac/macbook-pro

I was thinking to get the AJA Io 4K
http://www.aja.com/en/products/io-4k#techspecs

in between the G-SPEED eS PRO and the Macbook PRO (laptop)
I'm not sure if it's gonna work or if you guys have a better option.

Thank You in advance for your time!

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 521
Joined: Feb 6th, '13, 10:44

Re: How to connect G-SPEEDeS Pro to MacBook pro 2014

Postby Dustin F » Aug 4th, '14, 07:54

jantcano,

The Io4K has no sas interface, nor is it a raid controller. Do you already have an es pro with a raid card setup on a computer or is this strictly pre-sales? The simplest way to hook an es pro to a thunderbolt equipped computer would be with the atto thunderstream unit. http://www.attotech.com/products/produc ... C-3808-D00
If you do not have an espro but are looking for a 4 bay unit for thunderbolt, it would be better to look at the g-speed studio. http://www.g-technology.com/products/g- ... tudio-raid
Regards

Dustin
G-Technology Support
twitter.com/GTech_Support

Return to G-SPEED eS PRO



Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php