I moved a lot of files to the trash, but the computer says my disk is full, why?
Simply throwing files or folder to the trash does not delete it from the hard drive. This is done so that one can recover a file or folder that may have been thrown in the trash.
In order to clear up space on your drive you must empty the trash. Once this is done, it cannot be reversed. Once the trash is empty, you will have lost the files or folder creating more room on the hard drive.